Universita Degli Studi di Palermo

The University of Palermo (UNIPA) is a public academic institution founded in 1806. Besides the main campus in Palermo, it operates 3 additional campuses, located in Western and Central Sicily. It has five Schools (Medicine, Technical Sciences, Law, Economic and Social Sciences, and Applied Sciences) and 20 Departments. In 2018, about 40,000 students attended the university in over 100 teaching programs; post-graduate activities included 44 masters, 23 PhD programmes, and 46 residency programmes in different medical fields. Technological transfer is promoted by the Advanced Technologies Network Center, including the Mediterranean Centre for Human Health Advanced Biotechnologies and the Large Research Infrastructures Centre. The Industrial Liaison Office links academia with industrial partners. UNIPA has good expertise in EU-funded projects: over 30 Industrial Research, Technology Districts and Structural Development Projects, Smart Cities Initiatives, and European Regional Development Fund National Operative Plan 2007-13; 6 European Social Fund projects, 15 projects of Mediterranean Cross-border cooperation with Malta and Tunisia; over 30 projects funded under the 7th Framework Programme for R&D; and several projects funded under Horizon 2020.

Piazza Marina 61, Palermo 90133, Italy