Dr. Walter McNicholas

Dr. Walter McNicholas is Newman Clinical Research Professor at University College Dublin (UCD) and Consultant in Respiratory and Sleep Medicine at St. Vincent’s Hospital Group, Dublin, Ireland. He is the current President of the European Sleep Research Society (ESRS) and a former President of the European Respiratory Society (ERS). He is a medical graduate of UCD and did his postgraduate training in Respiratory and Sleep Medicine at the University of Toronto, Canada. Walter is a Research Fellow at the UCD Conway Research Institute andis a part of a multidisciplinary research group based in St. Vincent’s and the Conway Institute, which collaborates with other groups within UCD and throughout Europe. His research interests range from human clinical to basic cell and molecular biology, and include the pathophysiology, treatment and outcomes of obstructive sleep apnoea (OSA), the cardiovascular and metabolic consequences of the disorder, basic cell and molecular mechanisms and consequences of intermittent hypoxia, in addition to sleep disturbances in chronic respiratory disorders. He is also closely involved in the evaluation of novel ambulatory monitoring devices for sleep disorders and is active in public health policy around driving risk in patients with OSA and sleepiness. He has supervised many PhD and other doctoral research students over the past 30 years in his research laboratory at UCD and St. Vincent’s. Walter is a past Associate Editor of the European Respiratory Journal and has published over 230 international peer-reviewed papers (h-index: 53, Web of Science; 69, Google Scholar). He serves on the editorial boards of several international respiratory and sleep journals and is Associate or Section Editor in four journals. Walter has held many leadership positions in national and international organisations. He was also the President of the European Board of Accreditation in Pneumology from 2010-2014. He chaired an EU-sponsored COST Action (B26) on OSA (2005-2010), and also chaired a Working Group established by the Transport and Mobility Directorate of the European Commission on Sleep Apnoea and Driving (2012-2013), which led to an official EU Directive on this topic, issued in 2014, that is now mandatory throughout all EU member states.Nopersonnel costs will be declared and paid by ESRSfor the team memberWalter McNicholas.